You Were an Orchard

 

You were an orchard, I planted my seeds

Within these moments, you grew more than me

 

I was the child who ran through the streets

Looking for answers to things left unseen

 

You were the ocean, the sand on my feet

The lighthouse that guided the boats on the sea

 

I was the child that watched from the shore

As you raised your anchor and sailed henceforth

 

Why do scattered ashes look like drawings of a former life I once had?

When I find I lose my mind, I’m in a crossfire with no time to leave

 

I was a turnstile and you were in line

Waiting and walking, you passed through my mind

 

You were the reason I gave an excuse

To leave on a whirlwind, that words would ring true

 

I was the umpire who lost all control

When you slid for home base, I never let go

 

Why do scattered ashes look like drawings of a former life I once had?

When I find I lose my mind, I’m in a crossfire with no time to leave

 

I’m sketching lines without meaning

Meeting minds without feeling

Like a thief that isn’t stealing

Or a dealer never dealing

 

Why do I rely on time when clocks keep ticking like untimely death?

‘Cause when I run out of steam, like batteries that dry, where will I go?

Leave a Reply

