Rusty Bones

On these feet I carry rust like tracks along a train yard in autumn bloom

As the rain pours down, these empty vessels consume my need for sleep

All the vagrants and the tramps are stowaways on a parade for the bravest meals

Barreling towards the unknown, all those souls get swept away alongside my carriage view

Flask in hand, change in pants, hat on head, workers man, can’t stand the necessities

Luggage stashed beneath the seat, small talk passes between me, my ears and window panes

Powerless and out of time, coal breathes flames and guiltless pints begin to swill my head

Hunger strikes the hour hand, she leans in and we begin to court untimely

Weakened by the fear and doubt, subtle notes are coursing through her lungs as she breathes out

And on the sill I placed my drink, while she adjusts her new confident mentality

Cigarettes and emptiness, passing glances, raindrops racing downward glass and see

My reflection skewed and stretched, under tunnels she pursues and still… yet I digress

Dotting I’s and crossing T’s, swell goodbyes and warm regards for those in time of need

For a while I find myself on a train heading to nowhere and that’s fine with me

Leave a Reply

